Agencies of the Federal Government

(Click on the Link to Travel to the Agencies Website)



U.S. Department of Health and Human Services (HHS)

HHS is the federal government's principal agency charged with protecting the health of United States citizens and providing essential human services. Among the agencies included in HHS are the Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS), the Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA), and the National Institutes of Health (NIH).

The Centers for Medicare and Medicaid Services (CMS)

CMS provides essential services for Medicare and Medicaid beneficiaries.

The Substance Abuse and Mental Health Services Administration (SAMHSA)

SAMHSA supports and facilitates recovery for people at risk for mental or substance use disorders through its three Centers.

The Center for Mental Health Services (CMHS)

CMHS leads federal efforts in expanding the availability and accessibility of community-based services for adults with serious mental illness and children with serious emotional disturbances.

The Center for Substance Abuse Prevention (CSAP)

CSAP works to improve the quality of substance abuse prevention practices nationwide.

The Center for Substance Abuse Treatment (CSAT)

CSAT promotes the quality and availability of community-based substance abuse treatment services for individuals and families.

The National Institutes of Health (NIH)

NIH is the nation's medical and behavioral research agency. NIH consists of 27 institutes and centers.

The National Institute of Mental Health (NIMH)

NIMH is one of the institutes of the NIH and is dedicated to treating and preventing mental illnesses through basic research on the brain and behavior, and through clinical, epidemiological, and services research.

The Office of the Surgeon General

The Surgeon General serves as the chief health educator and is charged with providing the best scientific information available on how to improve health and reduce the risk of illness and injury.












Legislative Alerts

  • 03/27/2015 - 11:00am

     know many of you have been hearing about changes to Medicare payments and the SGR, and you may be wondering what it all means for LCSWs. Given the fact that the 158-page bill, HR 1470, now HR 2, Medicare Access and CHIP Reauthorization Act (MACRA), was created last week and released yesterday, this preliminary analysis of the bill should not be considered complete. More information will be coming but this will give you a summary of what HR 2, will and will not do, if passed.